In the Spotlight with Woodstock Artist Joyce Washor

WAAM is pleased to share an exclusive interview with Woodstock artist Joyce Washor. Inspired by the art of meditation, Joyce Washor explains, “Quieting the mind is similar to the silent state of my subjects. Both meditation and painting work best while being in the moment and allowing your attention to focus inward. Once inward, a whole new world presents itself.”

Joyce Washor Saltzman

WAAM: How would you describe yourself?

Joyce Washor: A student.

WAAM: Are you a Hudson Valley native? If not, what brought you here and how long ago?

Joyce Washor: I was born in Brooklyn so not a native. I’ve lived here since 1982- first camping at Wilson State Park and then buying an almost finished house in Willow with my husband. We were drawn to the area for its beauty and arts. He encouraged me to start classes at WSA in ’86 where teachers in turn then encouraged me to enter paintings at WAA in ’92. I am now on the board at WAAM glad to be able to give back to the community that was so instrumental in my artistic development.

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 7.35.29 PM

WAAM: What & why do you create?

Joyce Washor: In 1997 I had a rotator cuff injury and also learned to meditate. These two seemingly unrelated experiences melded together and altered my painting process. After seeing a holiday small works exhibit at Elena Zang Gallery, I downsized my oil paintings to 3×4 inches, and fell in love!  I create to engage with the world.

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 6.05.25 PM

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 6.03.56 PM
WAAM: What is your sustaining inspiration?

Joyce Washor: Dark, colorful shadows are an inspiration. Setting up a still life, turning on the lamp and watching how light emerges from shadow is magical.

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 6.03.34 PM

WAAM: Do you have a job to support your art? How is it relevant?

Joyce Washor: I teach watercolor- it’s the second best thing to painting. The give and take is sublime!

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 6.04.07 PM

You can learn more about Joyce Washor,and follower her work here:

www.JoyceWashor.com
www.joycewashorsdailypaintings.blogspot.com

http://www.ulsterartistsonline.org/user/331

 

 



Categories: WAAM Exclusive Interviews

Tags: , , ,

2 replies

  1. Most excellent!!!!!
    Great article!
    Great work!

    Like

  2. Joyce is a very talented artist. I am very much looking forward to be taking a beginning drawing and watercolor course with her.

    Like

Comments?