In the Spotlight with Sandra Nystrom

 

Nystrom photo portrait

This month’s featured artist is Sandra Nystrom.

How would you describe yourself? 

Loves art, creating it, living with it .  Enjoys the natural world and all the changes it brings to inspire. Loves color, spaces and composing shapes and lines.  Love a good sense of humor and a laugh but can be highly organized and driven to never give up on a piece of work.  I am optimist and believe that with discipline you can succeed in anything you put your mind to.

Nystrom Awakening

Are you a Hudson Valley native? If not, what brought you here and how long ago?

I am not a native and came here 38 years ago to buy a piece of property and build a house.  I live on one of the very valued scenic roads in Woodstock and walk it everyday to breathe fresh air and think!!

What and why do you create? 

I create 2 dimensional work that is done with oils and some mixed media on canvas or paper.   I create to challenge myself and to experience the joy of unearthing  the mysteries of where the paint and other elements will lead.

Nystrom Submerged

What is your sustaining inspiration? 

My interest in drawing started very early in my life and as a teenager was introduced to Albert Sanski in Haddonfield New Jersey where I was taught to oil paint.  I fell in love with his studio and all that it inspired and had to have my own one day in my life.  I climb stairs to my studio now everyday just as I did then and wait for the inspiration to start.

Do you have a job to support your art?  How is it relevant?

My career as a full-time designer and fashion director in the textile and fashion world of New York enabled me to now live on a mountaintop full-time.   The work I produce reflects the experiences I had in that fashion world with color, pattern, shapes and texture.   Each piece of art becomes an addition to a collection I am creating as if these pieces were a line of fabric or garments.

Nystrom Night Vision



Categories: WAAM Exclusive Interviews

Tags: , ,

Comments?