In The Spotlight With Barbara Tepper Levy

WAAM is pleased to present our exclusive interview with artist Barbara Tepper Levy, a Hudson Valley multi-media artist who draws on her experience in fashion design to create graceful mixed media compositions.

scan0645

 

WAAM: How would you describe yourself?

Barbara: I am a fine artist AND a stay at home mom.  I cram as many creative classes into my days as possible—mixed media, drawing, ceramics, knitting, and now I’m exploring creating silver jewelry.  My family is extremely important to me.  I want my kids to see me as an artist, and not just their mom.  I get a great deal of satisfaction displaying and selling my art.

sea serpent nymph

WAAM: Are you a Hudson Valley native? If not, what brought you here and how long ago?

Barbara: I am originally from the New York City area, and have lived in Boston, Manhattan, Syracuse and Michigan.  We moved here ten years ago from Michigan to be closer to our families.

WAAM: What & why do you create?

Barbara: I create because I love to and I can.  My work is comprised of collages, black and white line art, acrylic painting and hand-built sculptural ceramics.  My work was recently described as “pieces that have curves that evoke a sense of graceful movement” in the Northern Dutchess News.  I believe that flowing dynamic in my work is influenced by my years of working in costuming and fashion design.  Right now I’m using that aesthetic to knit unusual and colorful wearable art.

Mrs

WAAM: What is your sustaining inspiration?

Barbara: I love making beautiful objets d’art.  I like the idea that people want my work in their homes, and I’ve contributed some beauty to their space.

The Kalleh

WAAM: Do you have a job to support your art? How is it relevant?

Barbara: While I am not currently working outside the home, my “other” career was producing special events.   I approached these events as I do a piece of art.  It must be appealing and elegant,  as well as draw the guest in, and make him/her comfortable and excited at the same time.  I was involved in the design concepts of all my events, which included overseeing the design of the invitation and dinner program, as well as awards for special guests and even the tablecloths and centerpieces.

Thank you Barbara!

Want to be “In the Spotlight?” CLICK HERE

 



Categories: WAAM Exclusive Interviews

Tags: , , , ,

Comments?