In The Spotlight With Polly Law

WAAM is pleased to present our exclusive interview with artist Polly Law, a Hudson Valley multi-media artist working in bricolage and mythologeny.

 

Polly_4795

©PMLaw/MMXV-MMXVI; portrait: ©Tom Eberhardt-Smith/MMXV

WAAM: How would you describe yourself?

Polly: Outwardly, I am a white, middle-aged woman of average height and heft; in the hipster culture of today, this means that I am invisible. Internally, I don’t know how I got to be so old as I would swear I am really only 36. My interior landscape is as I depict in my work- dramatic, dark, and with a prevailing watchfulness and detachment.

nest72

©PMLaw/MMXV-MMXVI; portrait: ©Tom Eberhardt-Smith/MMXV

 

WAAM: Are you a Hudson Valley native? If not, what brought you here and how long ago?

Polly: No, I moved to Saugerties in 1994 and then to exile in Kingston in 2008. I wanted to live in the country again, after a 17 year sojourn in New York City. My physical compass points me to the North, my spiritual/philosophic compass always to the Uttermost West.

WAAM: What & why do you create?

Polly: I make paper dolls with deep personal issues. I create because otherwise I would explode with rage and frustration or implode from sheer, utter boredom.

revelation72

©PMLaw/MMXV-MMXVI; portrait: ©Tom Eberhardt-Smith/MMXV

WAAM: What is your sustaining inspiration?

Polly: Exploring interior landscapes through the surrogate of nature. Trying to understand attachment in all its permutations. An abiding and futile fear of entropy.

stunnedwendy72

©PMLaw/MMXV-MMXVI; portrait: ©Tom Eberhardt-Smith/MMXV

WAAM: Do you have a job to support your art? How is it relevant?

Polly: I manage a Northeast-North American-native-plant nursery in Kerhonksen, NY during the season. I spend the winter in my workroom. It is relevant because it is real, and it satisfies the scientific side of my intellect. I get to make use of my Latin, pet a lot of dogs, and make prodigious amounts of vitamin D

 

surrender72

©PMLaw/MMXV-MMXVI; portrait: ©Tom Eberhardt-Smith/MMXV

Thank you Polly!

Want to be “In the Spotlight?” CLICK HERE

Learn more about Polly’s work:



Categories: WAAM Exclusive Interviews

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 replies

  1. Lovely work, very engaging.. I have one of her works… 🙂

    Like

  2. Polly has always been one of my favorite assemblage artists. Every one of her pieces is beyond wonderful!

    Like

  3. really enjoyed your thoughtful answers, polly! xo

    Like

  4. Polly remains a steadfast example to me of pure artistry and integrity.

    Like

  5. Oh geez Brad, how am I gonna get my big fat swelled head through the doorway now? Thanks- xo

    Like

Comments?