In The Spotlight With Hatti Iles

WAAM is pleased to present our exclusive interview with artist Hatti Iles, a Hudson Valley collage and multi-media artist whose creativity and fantastic subjects know no bounds.

KM_C224e-20160829113812

Hatti Iles, October 2013, Doghouse Gallery. Photo courtesy of Kristy Bishop

 

WAAM: How would you describe yourself?

Hatti: This is a very difficult question! I am indescribable. (We all are.) However, here are a few clues. I don’t have a cell phone, a microwave or a pair of blue jeans. I’ve never been to Starbucks and didn’t learn to drive until I was 40.

I will remember your dogs name, but not yours. I believe in elves and fairies, and make it possible for beings of other realms to enter our world through my artwork, or allow us to enter theirs. But I think what best describes me is how very much I love animals and the wild wonderful world we are so privileged to inhabit.

Hatti Iles The Mouse in the Moon Collage Acrylic and Colored Pencil John Kleinhans

Hatti Iles, The Mouse in the Moon, Collage, Acrylic and Colored Pencil. Photo courtesy of John Kleinhans

WAAM: Are you a Hudson Valley native? If not, what brought you here and how long ago?

Hatti: No. Arrived in October 1970 to visit a friend.

Hatti Iles Spirit Walk Collage and Colored Pencil John Kleinhans

Hatti Iles, Spirit Walk, Collage and Colored Pencil. Photo courtesy of John Kleinhans

WAAM: What & why do you create?

Hatti: I don’t think that question has an answer.

Hatti Iles Pagoda Collage and Colored Pencil John Kleihans

Hatti Iles, Pagoda, Collage and Colored Pencil. Photo courtesy of John Kleihans

WAAM: What is your sustaining inspiration?

Hatti: Everything. However, I learned long ago that inspiration is not necessary. Sometimes just doing creates inspiration – but if you wait you won’t get much done.

Hatti Iles The Mouse has a Message Collage and Colored Pencil John Kleinhans

Hatti Iles, The Mouse Has a Message, Collage and Colored Pencil. Photo cortesy of John Kleinhans

WAAM: Do you have a job to support your art? How is it relevant?

Hatti: I take care of dogs. It is relevant because it enables me to buy food and other necessities to support life. And sometimes I sell art work.

Thank you Hatti!

Want to be “In the Spotlight?” CLICK HERE

 



Categories: WAAM Exclusive Interviews

Tags: , , , ,

1 reply

  1. Is her art on display anywhere? I too am a pet care giver! Kindred spirits!

    Like

Comments?