In the Spotlight with Artist Marcie Woodruff

WAAM is pleased to share an exclusive interview with artist Marcie Woodruff. A resident of New Paltz, NY, Marcie moved from St. Louis to Ulster County exactly two months to the day before 9/11.  In the middle 1990s anticipating retirement at the turn of the millennium, and pursuing a lifelong wish, Marcie began to learn watercolor painting in the Missouri Botanical Garden in St. Louis, and in the Art Center Sarasota workshops with Judi Wagner and Ron Ranson. Since moving to the Hudson Valley she has studied at The Woodstock School of Art, painting watercolors with Staats Fasoldt and Richard Segalman, exploring printmaking with Kate McGloughlin and abstraction with Meredith Rosier.

Woodruff Winter Woods_oil painting

Winter Woods

 

WAAM: How would you describe yourself?

Marcie Woodruff: I’m a retired teacher, writer, and editor who’s finally doing what she’s wanted to do all her life: art.

marcie

WAAM: Are you a Hudson Valley native? If not, what brought you here and how long ago?

Marcie: Along with my daughter and her family who were coming up from NYC, I moved from Webster Groves, MO, two months to the day before 9/11, knowing that I wanted to paint but without realizing that I was moving to a Mecca of art education. How could I have been so unknowing and so lucky? Between the Woodstock School of Art and WAAM, I have had an amazing 15 years of learning, some selling and absolutely wonderful associations with artists much more accomplished than I – an amazing education from teachers and peers that continues to this day.

Woodruff Sky Watchers_ acrylic

Sky Watchers

 

WAAM: What & why do you create?

Marcie: I did watercolors for five years with Staats Fasoldt. Then got hooked on printmaking with Kate McGloughlin. I was one of the first three (!) people who took Meredith Rosier’s first workshop, then started painting with Jenny Nelson and Donald Elder. So what do I print or paint now? Whatever makes me feel good! Sometimes representational, more often abstracts that bring to mind imagery that resonates with me.

WAAM: What is your sustaining inspiration?

Marcie: Selfishly, I paint to make myself happy! (And I hope I don’t embarrass my teachers with my work!)

WAAM: Do you have a job to support your art?
Marcie: NOPE

Reflections VII printReflections



Categories: WAAM Exclusive Interviews

Tags: , , ,

5 replies

  1. thank you for the article! lovely work.

    Like

  2. Beautiful work! And so interesting to learn how Marcie came to Woodstock – I especially love “Sky Watchers”

    Like

  3. One of the most pleasant, helpful and talented artists at WAAM.

    Like

  4. Caught am I, with Winter Woods- a feast. More, Marcie!

    Like

  5. Is Winter Woods available for purchase?

    Like

Comments?