In The Spotlight With Elaine Ralston

WAAM is pleased to present our exclusive interview with Elaine Ralston, a Hudson Valley artist whose work in pastels is inspired by the beauty of nature.

elaine

WAAM: How would you describe yourself?

Elaine: I am a human being who tries to be consciously aware of what is going on around me.  I find it hard to describe myself because what I would like to be hasn’t yet manifested.  I have a love for arts and animals and feel there is more to life than what we see.  I love beauty in all its forms.

catskill-glow

WAAM: Are you a Hudson Valley native? If not, what brought you here and how long ago?

Elaine: No.  The beauty of the area brought me here in the 70’s

bowl-of-pears

WAAM: What & why do you create?

Elaine: It is in my nature to create and I feel my purpose to honor that calling.  Creating is a process that goes with the flow of the universe and not creating causes stagnation.  I create in every area of my life that I can.  Specifically at this time I express best with pastels.  The brilliance of the pure colors and their application motivates me.  I have enjoyed working with other mediums as well but currently am more prolific in the pastel medium.

rooty-toot-toot

WAAM: What is your sustaining inspiration?

Elaine: The essence of beauty in all things calls to me to witness and speak for it.  It is a spiritual holistic experience of nature that is hard to describe.  It is a sensitivity to the world around me that drives me.

sea-breeze

WAAM: Do you have a job to support your art? How is it relevant?

Elaine: Not at the present time.  When I was a Pastry Chef I created what I considered “food art” and had worked in advertising creating presentations so at those times I was supported by my art.   

Thank you Elaine!

 

 

 

Want to be “In the Spotlight?” CLICK HERE



Categories: WAAM Exclusive Interviews

Tags: , , , ,

Comments?